Quackenbush Architects wins 2 AIA Columbia Design Awards

COLUMBIA, SC - October 1, 2010 - The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Greater Columbia Section held their biennial design awards gala on September 30, 2010 at the Eau Claire Print Building on North Main.

Submissions were judged by an independent jury, selected by the AIA Greater Columbia Board of Directors, and awards presented to AIA Member Firms and Architects for projects which highlighted exceptional design.

The 2010 Jury consisted of:

Jerry Lominack, AIA, NCARB of Lominack, Kolman, Smith Architects
Linda Ramsay, FAIA of Ramsay Sherrill Architects
Pete Callejas, AIA of Greenline Architecture - President of AIA Savannah
Josh Ward, AIA - Vice President of AIA Savannah
Patrick Phelps, AIA , LEED AP of Hansen Architects - Past President of AIA Savannah

Among the awards given this year was one Excellence Award, the most prestigious.  Three Honor Awards and four Merit Awards were also presented.  In addition to these, an Award of Special Recognition was given to a significantly unique project.  The awards are as follows:

Excellence Award:

701 Whaley

Architectural Firm: Garvin Design Group

Owner: 701 Whaley Owner LLC

General Contractor: Hood Construction Inc.


Honor Award:

Harbison Classroom and Theater Building

Architectural Firm: Watson Tate Savory Architects

Owner: Midlands Technical College

General Contractor: Martin Engineering


Honor Award:

James E. Clyburn Intermodal Transportation Center

Architectural Firm: Watson Tate Savory Architects

Owner: Santee Wateree Regional Transportation Authority

General Contractor: All Quality Construction


Honor Award:

Abacus Planning Group

Architectural Firm: Quackenbush Architects + Planners, LLC

Owner: Aix Sponsa LLC

General Contractor: Weathers Contracting Company, Inc.


Merit Award:

Lynches River Environmental Discovery Center

Architectural Firm: Drakeford Architects

Owner: Florence County, South Carolina

General Contractor: Hawkins and Kolb Construction Company, Inc.


Merit Award:

Lowman Hall Rehabilitation

Architectural Firm: Watson Tate Savory Architects

Owner: South Carolina State University

General Contractor: Weber Construction Company


Merit Award:

Ernest F. Hollings Special Collections Library

Architectural Firm: Watson Tate Savory Architects

Owner: The University of South Carolina

General Contractor: Gilbane Building Company


Merit Award:

Kress Office Renovation

Architectural Firm: Quackenbush Architects + Planners, LLC

Owner: Capitol Places, Tom Prioreschi and Quackenbush Architects + Planners, Doug Quackenbush

General Contractor: Mashburn Construction Company, Inc.


Special Recognition:

Produce Stand

Architectural Firm: Catalyst Architects, LLC

Owner: State of South Carolina (Department of Commerce + Department of Agriculture)

General Contractor: State of South Carolina (Prison Industries at the Department of Corrections)


AIA Greater Columbia would like to emphasize that the success of any design depends greatly on the collaboration between the client, the design team, and the construction team.  The members thank the sponsors for this event: ATAS, Carolina Ceramics, Pella Window and Door, Shenandoah Restorations, Inc. and WC Johnston Architectural Sales, LLC. 


About AIA Greater Columbia:

AIA Greater Columbia Section is a subsidiary of the AIA South Carolina chapter and the national American Institute of Architects.  AIA Greater Columbia has a membership of approximately 300 design professionals and strives to help carry-out the goals of the parent organizations: being the voice of the architectural profession and the resource for its members in the service to society.


Q+ News Archives